Cheese and Mustard Scones

16 Jan

These are lovely to eat and quick to make, great as a snack or with lunch (especially soup!). I know scones are often wrought with stress and fear of them not rising and being kneaded too much, but I can safely say that this is a sturdy recipe!!

IMG_0954

Ingredients:

  • 225g Self-raising Flour
  • 1tsp Baking Powder
  • 1tsp Salt
  • 50g Butter/Margarine
  • 200g Strong Cheddar (keep a small amount behind for later)
  • 2tbsp Whole Grain Mustard
  • 150ml Milk
  • Estimated time: 35 minutes

 

Directions:

And here we go again 😀 So, to start off with weigh the flour, baking powder, salt and butter into the bowl and using your hands rub together until it resembles fine crumbs. The easiest way to do this is by using your fingertips, usually your thumb, index and middle fingers to rub the flour and butter together. If you are using margarine then this will be quick and easy, butter will take a bit longer to rub in completely.

IMG_0925

Once completely rubbed in mix through the grated cheddar (mild or mature, cheddar or any hard cheese of your choice) using your hands, simply because its easy, you just want to make sure the cheese is mixed through the flour. Now add in the mustard, don’t worry about trying to mix this in evenly, without adding the milk it will be impossible!

Now that this is all mixed together you can add the milk. Only add a bit at a time, carefully mixing it into the flour (using a spoon or your hand, both work well!) before adding more. You only want to do this a bit at a time as you only want the dough to come together and nothing more, otherwise it is such a pain in the bum to roll out!

IMG_0934

When the dough comes together you can lightly flour the table or a flat surface and turn the dough out onto it. Now just knead the dough to bring it together completely, then either roll the dough out, or you can just push it out using the palms of your hands. Once its about an inch thick you can cut out the scones and place them on a tray covered with greaseproof paper. This dough can be brought back together and re-rolled until it is all gone so no need to worry about only re-rolling once J

IMG_0952

Once they are all cut out you can use a small amount of milk to glaze the tops of the scones and top of with the left over cheese. These scones bake at 180 degrees for roughly 10-15 minutes, check at 10 first then you can get a good idea at how long they will take. When they are cooked they will be golden brown on top with the melted cheese, they should also be soft and sound hollow if you tap the bottom. These can either be eaten while hot or allowed to cool down.

IMG_0954

Ta-daaa!! Nice and easy, and very tasty cheese scones, an awesome snack during the day or a brilliant change to bread with soup for lunch or dinner…Though I’m not to sure how good they would be for breakfast!!

11 Responses to “Cheese and Mustard Scones”

  1. foods for the soul January 16, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    I haven’t made savory scones before. I usually stick to breakfast scones instead, like blueberry or pumpkin or cranberry, but yours look great! I love the little bit of cheese on top too.

    • justthebasicscooking January 17, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

      You should, cheese scones are brilliant! I love the idea of pumpkin scones, (and cranberry) do you have any recipes to share?

      • foods for the soul January 17, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

        I do! I have pumpkin here (http://wp.me/p18CG9-yh) and blueberry here (http://wp.me/p18CG9-vI). And I know blueberry scones aren’t cranberry, but I used dried blueberries so it’d be really easy to substitute dried cranberries! (If you wanted dried, of course… If you wanted fresh, I’m sure it’d be fairly easy to slightly modify the recipe!)

      • justthebasicscooking January 18, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

        Aha! Thank you, my brother (in America) keeps telling me about pumpkin scones and they’ve always intrigued me, pumpkin is soo under used 🙂 I will have to make them next week when I go to see him!!!

      • foods for the soul January 18, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

        Ahh, that’d make sense… I’m based in the US too, and I love my pumpkin! I hope you two enjoy them, and have a safe trip!

      • justthebasicscooking January 19, 2013 at 11:11 am #

        Thank you, given enough time I’ll be doing a Taste of Manhattan for my loyal readers 😉

      • foods for the soul January 19, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

        That sounds like so much fun! And lucky you, visiting Manhattan… I’ve only been there for a few days, but it would take a lifetime to explore everything it has to offer!

      • justthebasicscooking January 19, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

        I know we’re going for two weeks so we’ll do as much as we can!! It’s going to be amazing, we’re almost ready just need to finish packing and checking that I’m allowed to cook at my brothers 🙂 It’s getting exciting now!

      • foods for the soul January 19, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

        Two whole weeks?? I’m pretty jealous!! I’m assuming you’re a bit of a foodie, so try to check out Café Lalo while you’re there! It was featured in the movie “You’ve Got Mail,” and they have the most amazing desserts. I could’ve eaten there every day!

      • justthebasicscooking January 19, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

        Yeah we’re spending one week in Manhattan and then a week in Boston afterwards! Ooh that sound good, I have an awful feeling that I’m going to come back rather large after all the eating!!!

      • foods for the soul January 20, 2013 at 7:34 am #

        In Boston, you should consider trying cannolis in the North End. My parents lived in the city for a few years, and they ate one at least once a week!

        You’re going to have such a great trip!!

Leave a Reply

