Catbus Birthday Cake

8 May

Been a little busy recently making a cake for my brother’s birthday – so I haven’t been able to get a new recipe up together for you guys.

Instead I’d like to share a couple of pictures with you of the fun Studio Ghibli inspired cake I made for my brother!

For those not familiar with Catbus and Totoro I strongly recommend checking it out, I can almost guarantee you’ll love it!!

CatbusCake

I’ve used the Italian Buttercream from my last post found here as an edible glue to stick the icing to the classic loaf cake that forms the body, the chocolate-chip muffin that forms his head and some delicious mini-swiss rolls I used for the legs!!

CatbusCake1

Hope you like it!
I’ll get something fun together for Saturday!

3 Responses to “Catbus Birthday Cake”

  1. Sugar and Spice Baking May 18, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    Very cool cake!!

    • justthebasicscooking May 18, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

      Thank you, I had so much fun making and decorating this, well worth it 😀

  2. Shweta D'souza June 4, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    The cake looks delicious!

    Meanwhile I have been figuring out the kinds of icing that gets involved when it comes to baking and decorating.. Do have a look! 🙂
    http://bakistryblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/different-types-of-icing/

Leave a Reply

