Smoky Guacamole

17 Jul

So I’m back, my course over and done with an amazing week and a tiring one. Now I’m home all I want is to sit in front of the TV with some crisps and dips! This is one thing that I always forget I love! It’s also possibly the nicest way to have avocado :p I think all of us love having nachos with melted cheese, guacamole and salsa – it is just such a ‘naughty’ snack, but so damn tasty! This has forever been a welcome guest in our house!!

SmokyGuacamole2

Ingredients:
1 Avocado
2 Cloves of smoked garlic
2 Plum tomatoes
1 Shallot
2tsp Lemon juice

Estimated time: 10 minutes

Directions:

This is really the easiest tastiest thing in the world!! Finely dice the shallot, cloves of garlic and the tomatoes. I know it’s a small amount of tomatoes but they’re really only there for colour :p you want all of these to be quite small as although they give a wonderfully flavour, you don’t want to be the one who gets a mouthful of onion!!!

Now the slightly tricky bit, the avocado!!! I find it easiest to cut down to the stone and then cut all around it so that you can’t then twist the two halves apart. Carefully hit your knife into the stone, slightly twist it and pull out the stone ๐Ÿ™‚ easy!!

SmokyGuacamole

Carefully peel off the skin by sliding your thumb underneath it around the edge, I know they’re really slimy but this is the easiest way!

Now carefully slice and dice your avocado halves. Scrape one half into a bowl with half of the other half! Mash this all with a fork, you don’t want it completely smooth as that looks strange ๐Ÿ™‚

SmokyGuacamole1

To this bowl stir in your onion, garlic and tomato. To this stir in your lemon juice. Have a taste and then season to your liking with salt and pepper. I find that it needs quite a lot of salt, but this can of course just be my taste buds :p

Finally stir in the rest of your avocado so that it is nice and chunky! And now serve with tasty crisps in front of a film ๐Ÿ™‚

SmokyGuacamole2

There you are, one of the tastiest dips known to man!!!! Well that might be an exaggeration but I love it ๐Ÿ™‚ I really hope you enjoy this recipe, of course if you want to add spice then chop in a chilli (be as generous as you want)!

4 Responses to “Smoky Guacamole”

  1. bakeaffairs July 17, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    I love Avocados and much more I love Guacamole!! Thats a great recipe, thank you for sharing and the mouthwatering pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

    • justthebasicscooking July 19, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

      You’re welcome I’m glad you love it as much as I do, guacamole is such a versatile thing, you can really experiment with different flavours instead of the usual chilli. Thank you so much the colour of the avocado is such an amazing colour!!!!

  2. themondaybaker July 24, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    Fresh guacamole is wonderful stuff and this looks lovely! I’ve just used smoked garlic in some bread but found that I couldn’t really taste the smokiness once it had been peeled and baked. Did it keep the taste in your guacamole? I have a bulb left to use and this could be just the thing.

    • justthebasicscooking July 25, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

      Yeah smoked garlic is a tricky one, even avocado can mask the taste! In my recipe there is a subtle hint of smokiness, but just adding more garlic can increase the smokiness.

      (P.S. Salt’s my secret weapon) x

Leave a Reply

