My Cake Course!

20 Jul

So as you all know I’ve just been on a cake decorating course in Farnham for 6 days. We worked with marzipan, royal icing, sugar paste, pastillage and even sugar florists paste!!

We learnt how to professionally marzipan round and square cakes for royal icing and sugar paste. Followed by marzipan roses and models of teddy bears! So much easier than I ever thought they were!

MarzipanBear

Then the love hate relationship with Royal Icing began! We iced our cakes with precise techniques before making our own run outs in the shapes of flower petals and butterflies.

MarzipanRoses

Once the icing had set we began to decorate our cakes using precision piping (traditionally seen on wedding cakes) and our run outs. This is what my cake turned out like 🙂 I like to feel its very summery! The pieces of foam are what we used to make our flowers and butterflies stand up, we used royal icing to as a glue and stuck the wings or petals in, using the foam to balance them while drying. I chose to leave the foam in the hope that it would prevent them from breaking on the various train and boat journeys back home! Only two wings broke so I think it worked well :p

RoyalIcing

Sugar paste cake, probably the easiest thing to ice cakes with! This was our square cake on which I tried using a cutter to create outlines on my cake around the corners which I then filled in using Brush Embroidery (royal icing again!). Around the bottom of the cake to hide join lines I used the shell technique to fill in gapes between my flowers which I feel made it very ‘classy’ :p I finished my cake off with a purple drape, also out of sugar paste across the middle to the two back corners. I was going to finish it with a Calla Lilly but I didn’t have time on Saturday!

SugarPaste

The final day, Saturday 😦 We learnt how to make fabric flowers, these are the flowers often seen on cakes that are incredibly fragile but so life like its amazing! These are so fun and rewarding to make, sadly in the rush of catching my train home I left my roses carefully wrapped in tissue in a box on my desk 😦

If any of you feel like going on one of these courses I strongly recommend it, this was possibly the most exhausting and fun holiday I’ve had in England. Just amazing!!

 

Leave a Reply

