Eton Mess

3 Aug

This is a classic English desert enjoyed in the summer (when we have it!). This is such an nice easy thing to make, especially with an easy quick meringue recipe!! Although I don’t always make this at home (I don’t like cream) my fiancée loves this pudding, it’s his favourite so here we go!!

EtonMess

Ingredients:
1 egg white
300g Icing sugar
150ml Double cream
1 punnet fresh strawberries
1 punnet fresh cherries
50g caster sugar
1tsp Vanilla

Estimated time: 15 minutes

Directions:

First the meringue, I said in an earlier post that there are three types of meringue, well technically there are four. This is the fourth type and the quickest, it’s very sweet and not to be used on it’s own, which is why I only use this for meringues that are to be mixed with cream and flavourings!

EtonMess1

Weigh your icing sugar into a bowl and add your lightly whisked egg white. Stir these two together until you are left with a paste that will roll into a ball around the spoon while stirring. If you want to add any colours or flavours add a tiny amount now.

Place a piece of grease proof paper onto the turn table in your microwave. Spoon small amounts of the paste onto this paper, make sure you spread them apart! Cook these for about 2 minutes, they are so fun to watch!!

EtonMess3

While these are cooking, and cooling pour your double cream into a bowl with the vanilla and caster sugar. Whisk this to soft peak to create a nice Chantilly, make sure you taste the Chantilly to get the right amount of sugar to your taste. Believe me, this isn’t what normally gets used but adds so much more flavour than just cream!

EtonMess2

Now chop up your strawberries and cherries. For the cherries I quartered them as its so much easier to remove the pips that way and the strawberries I cut them into small chunks. Place the fruit into a small bowl and add about two spoonfuls of granulated sugar. Stir these together and let them macerate.

EtonMess4

By now you have all of your components so its time to build 🙂 I started with a layer of the Chantilly at the bottom, then crushed meringues. You’ll notice these meringues are much more powdery than normal ones, don’t worry, with the fruit and cream you will not notice! Next goes a layer of the fruit with some of the amazing juice and then repeat until you are at the top of the glass or bowl.

Eton_Mess

Now stop reading this and eat it, honestly the best Eton mess I’ve ever had, this is so a family favourite now!! I really hope you all enjoy this and enjoy the summer were having!!! And try this with different fruits and combinations!

5 Responses to “Eton Mess”

  1. pattyabr August 3, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    I’ve never seen microwaved meringues before clever!

    • justthebasicscooking August 4, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

      They’re not the most talked about type but they are brilliant to make with young chefs! Also where they’re so quick to cook perfect for a spur of the moment pudding 🙂

  2. My Delicious Indulgence August 3, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

    Yum! I madetmy take on macaroon eton mess this week on my blog (great minds think alike even on the other side of the world!)

    • justthebasicscooking August 9, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

      They look amazing! I’ve never been able to master macaroons, quite a few have ended up in the bin! I will have to try these next time I tackle macaroons 🙂

      • My Delicious Indulgence August 9, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

        For sure
        I hate throwing out any shells just because they aren’t perfect. I won our local best pie comp this year by incorporating macs into the pie filing! Lol.

Leave a Reply

